What is the Keto Diet and Should I Try it?

By Hannah de Gruchy / Nutrition / October 31st, 2022

What Are the Different Types of Keto Diet?

What Are the Different Types of Keto Diet

Most people following the keto diet for weight loss will follow the standard ketogenic diet. This means severely restricting carb intake, reducing protein intake and concentrating on consuming foods typically high in fat such as meat, oily fish, eggs, dairy products, nuts, seeds and oils. On average, a standard keto diet consists of around 70% fat, 20% protein and 10% carbs.

Alternatively, we can follow the high protein ketogenic diet, which places more emphasis on protein, whilst still eating high fat foods and avoiding carbs. This typically allows around 60% fat, 35% protein and 5% carbs.

There are two other types of keto diet – the cyclical keto diet and the targeted keto diet. The cyclical version of this diet requires a rota of keto days and high carb days while the targeted version allows followers to add in high carb days based around exercise intensity. Both versions tend to be used by professional athletes or bodybuilders, under the guidance of a nutritionist or dietician alongside a personal trainer or training team.

For the purpose of this article, we’ll be concentrating on the standard keto diet as this is the most understood and studied type of ketogenic diet for weight loss.


Continue Reading This Article